PRESS RELEASE: Nominations Open for the Richard Lane/Robert Holden Patient Advocacy Award

National Alliance for Medication Assisted Recovery
Press Release

Contacts Person
Joycelyn Woods, Executive Director, edirector@methadone.org
Phone/Fax: 1.212.595.NAMA  (1-212-595-6262)

For Release
August 8, 2014

Nominations Open for the
Richard Lane/Robert Holden Patient Advocacy Award

Richard Lane was a long-term heroin user who, upon release from prison in 1967, was  instrumental in establishing one of the Nation’s first methadone treatment programs. In  1974, he became the Executive Director of Man Alive and later served as Vice President  of the American Methadone Treatment Association (now AATOD) and as Vice  Chairman of the Governor’s Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse in Maryland.  Mr. Lane  was a passionate advocate for methadone treatment and, by disclosing his own treatment  experiences, provided inspiration to patients and colleagues alike.   

Robert Holden was also a recovering heroin user, who later became the Director of  PIDARC, an outpatient methadone treatment program in the District of Columbia.  He  was a friend of Richard Lane and succeeded Richard Lane’s term of office as the Vice  President of the American Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependence. 

This award was established in 1995 and recognizes extraordinary achievements in patient advocacy.   

The following criteria should be applied in making your selection:             

·         Only one (1) nominee can be submitted to the Conference Awards Committee. There may be a number of nominees however only one (1) “consensus” nominee may receive this honor.             

·         The nominee must have been involved in the field of methadone advocacy for a period of five (5) years.

·         The nominee must have made meaningful and consistent contributions, which have had a significant impact on opioid treatment within a state or region of the United States. 

·         For each nominee a Nomination Form must be completed and submitted with two (2) Letters of Support. The Nomination Form is attached to this announcement and can also be downloaded from the NAMA Recovery website: http://www.methadone.org.   

NAMA Recovery will be responsible for collecting all the submissions for nomination and selecting a committee of advocates that will decide on the final candidate.  The  Candidate’s Name, Nomination Form and at least two (2) Letters of Support describing  the nominee’s achievements will be submitted to the AATOD Conference Awards  Committee for the final approval. 

The deadline for Submissions is September 12, 2014.  The completed Nomination Form along with at least two (2) Letters of Support should be sent to Joycelyn Woods at edirector@methadone.org.                                          

                           Previous Winners of the Award
1995, Arizona                                                                 Richard Lane                                
2001, St. Louis                                                               Joycelyn Woods                                
2007, San Diego                                                            Anthony Scro                                
2009, New York                                                           Walter Ginter                                
2010, Chicago                                                               Lisa Mojer Torres                                
2012, Las Vegas                                                            Roxanne Baker   
2013, Philadelphia                                                          Ira Marion

This Award will be bestowed upon the recipient during the Awards Banquet Ceremony  on March 31,k 2015 during AATOD’s next National Conference which will convene  at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta..   

The recipient will be provided with the following: a roundtrip Coach Class airfare, up to  two (2) nights in the hotel and Conference Registration for the 2015 AATOD Conference in Atlanta.    

                           Deadline:           September 12, 2014

             Email Nominations To:        Joycelyn Woods    edirector@methadone.org

If you have any questions about the award contact Joycelyn Woods at  edirector@methadone.org or by telephone at 718-742-7804            

Access Nomination Form via Dropbox by clicking HERE.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thoughts Comments Questions